Call for Papers

Call for Papers
You are here:

Call for Papers

SummerSoC is a well-established summer school and symposium focusing on service-oriented computing. The area of service-oriented computing is interpreted quite broadly, i.e. areas of interest for SummerSoC include cloud computing, business process management (i.e. service orchestrations), theoretical foundations of services, and applications in/of these areas, especially applications dealing with big /smart data and data sciences.

At SummerSoC, renowned researchers and leading industry practitioners give tutorials and invited talks on current topics from the areas above. PhD students present posters of their ongoing work and give plenary presentations of their theses. The agenda ensures that enough time is allocated for a lot of discussions. Participants come from both, academia as well as industry, and from all over the world.

SummerSoC is also a forum for presenting and discussing research from the areas above. Interested researchers submit papers that are peer-reviewed. In addition to novel research work we also ask for application and experience papers as well as overview papers (these submissions have to be marked accordingly). Authors of accepted papers are expected to attend SummerSoC 2016.

Accepted papers will be published in the Springer Journal ‘Computer Science – Research and Development’, Issue 3 & 4, 2016. Additionally, the extended abstracts of the accepted posters will be published as on IBM Technical Report.

We invite submissions on the following topics:

  • Developing services for the cloud

    • Moving existing services to the cloud
    • DevOps paradigm for services
    • Methods and tools for developing “cloud native” services
    • Cloud federations and interoperability among clouds
    • Model driven design for multi-cloud services
  • Cloud middleware

    • Elasticity analytics and control
    • Automatic provisioning and management
    • Transaction models, consistency models, and coordination models for multi-cloud environments
    • Elastic data-as-a-service
    • IoT middleware
    • Fog middleware
  • Use of big/smart data

    • Computational Models for Big Data
    • Software Systems to Support Big Data Computing
    • Cloud/Grid/Stream Computing for Big Data
    • Big Data in Motion and Big Data at Rest
    • Big Data management for IoT
    • Cloud/Grid/StreamData Mining
    • Cloud-based Analytic Computing and Analytic Services
    • Security & Privacy
    • Applications and Experience Reports
  • Business processes in the cloud

    • Business Processes as a Service
    • Social media in business processes
    • Orchestration of Services (e.g. composition of IoT services)
    • Quality-of-result aware business processes
  • Applications of services

    • eHealth, e.g. Connected Health
    • Smart energy/smart grids
    • IoT services
    • eScience
    • Digital Humanities

This year, SummerSoC will grant first time the “Christos Nikolaou PhD Award” for the best PhD thesis in the areas above. The award is not only an honor and distinction but is associated with 2000€ for the awardee, sponsored by StartTech Ventures. Details about which thesis may qualify and how to submit, you can find here.

Key Dates
Christos Nikolaou PhD award submission deadline: March 3rd, 2016

Paper submission deadline: March 10th, 2016

Notification for accepted paper: March 28th, 2016

Final version submission: April 28th, 2016

Poster abstract submission deadline: May 14th, 2016

Notification for accepted poster presentations: May 25th, 2016

SummerSoC: June 25 – June 30, 2016 in Crete, Greece.

Submission Instructions
Authors should submit original research, overview papers or vision papers.
We will accept full and short papers, as well as posters for work in process research.
Also PhD Students are invited to present and discuss their current PhD research in the poster session.

  • Paper Submission:
    Submitted full papers should not exceed 15 pages in Springer LNCS format.
    Submitted short papers should not exceed 7 pages in Springer LNCS format.
    Submission to: EasyChair
  • PhD Thesis Submissions:
    The application includes a 2-page essay.
    The application must be signed by both, the applicant and his/her Ph.D. advisor.
    The template of the application can be found here.
    Submissions (as PDF) via e-mail to:

Program Committee
The 11th Symposium and Advanced School in Service-Oriented Computing is directed by leading experts, faculty at well-known universities, and industrial R&D leaders in the field of Service-Oriented Computing (SOC). All of them have been involved in previous efforts to establish Services Science as a fundamental paradigm for computing and software architecture.
Program Committee

Program Chairs
Frank Leymann (U of Stuttgart)
Wolfgang Reisig (Humboldt University Berlin)

Organization Committee
George Koutras (Chair, OpenIT)
Johanna Barzen (U of Stuttgart)
Themis Koutsouras (OpenIT)

Program Committee
Marina Bitsaki (U of Crete)
Wolfgang Blochinger (U of Applied Science, Reutlingen)
Gerd Breiter (IBM)
Antonio Ruiz Cortés (U of Sivilia)
Stefan Dessloch (U of Kaiserslautern)
Christian Decker (U of Applied Science, Reutlingen)
Schahram Dustdar (TU Vienna)
Don Ferguson (Dell)
Christoph Freytag (Humboldt University Berlin)
Aditya Ghose (U of Wollongong)
Theo Härder (U of Kaiserslautern)
Melanie Herschel (U of Stuttgart)
Willem-Jan van Heuveln (Tilburg University)
Dimka Karastoyanova (U of Stuttgart)
Frank Leymann (U of Stuttgart)
Kostas Magoutis (U of Ioannina)
Natividad Martinez (U of Applied Science, Reutlingen)
Bernhard Mitschang (U of Stuttgart)
Mario A. Nascimento (U of Alberta)
Daniela Nicklas (U of Baberg)
Florian Niedermann (McKinsey)
Maria Papadopouli (U of Crete)
Cesare Pautasso (U of Lugano)
Ilia Petrov (U of Applied Science, Reutlingen)
Wolfgang Reisig (Humboldt University Berlin)
Norbert Ritter (U of Hamburg)
Jakka Sairamesh (The Advisor Board Company)
Holger Schwarz (U of Stuttgart)
Ulf Schreier (U of Applied Science, Furtwangen)
Craig Sheridan (Flexiant)
Albrecht Staebler (IAS Engineering)
Sanjiva Weerawarana (WSO2)
Alfred Zimmermann (U of Applied Science, Reutlingen)
Olaf Zimmermann (U of Rapperswil)

The Steering Committee:

Prof. Shahram Dustdar, Technical University of Vienna Austria
Dr. Donald Ferguson, VP, CTO for Software, Dell
Prof. Willem-Jan van Heuveln, Tilburg University, Netherlands
Dr. Rania Khalaf, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, NY, USA
Prof. Frank Leymann, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Prof. Kostas Magoutis, University of Ioannina& ICS-FORTH, Greece
Prof. Bernhard Mitschang, U. of Stuttgart, Germany
Prof. Mike Papazoglou, Tilburg University, the Netherlands
Prof. Dimitris Plexousakis, University of Crete
Prof. Wolfgang Reisig, Humboldt University, Germany
Dr. Jakka Sairamesh, The Advisor Board Company
Dr. Sanjiva Weerawarana, Founder, Chairman & CEO, WSO2, Inc., Sri Lanka
Prof. Olaf Zimmermann, U of Rapperswil, Switzerland

Copyright © 2005 - 2022, © Transformation Services Laboratory
Powered and Supported by OpenIT , Αποστολή SMS , FIVET , IVF , Rethymno